Why do I need an external enclosure?
11-26-2016, 12:50 PM,
Post: #26
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Pass 4...

tick tock tick tock

I was thinking about a Sonos Playbar. I still kinda am. What I really want is some sort of audio device that makes explosions quieter and dialog louder. I often have to turn up the TV to hear dialog, and then some sound effect is blaring, so I turn it back down. It degrades the experience somewhat.
bedstuy Wrote:mocking a pair of $500 jeans is a form of class warfare... why do you hate my social status?
11-26-2016, 02:27 PM,
Post: #27
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Most systems call that night mode.
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
11-26-2016, 05:05 PM,
Post: #28
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
(11-26-2016, 09:13 AM)Gippy Wrote: I don't need whizz-bang, but having rear channels and center is nice.
Soundbars are an intriguing option, too.

Why not a soundbase? Just stick it under your TV, and you don't need to have a big subwoofer hanging around.
11-27-2016, 11:20 AM,
Post: #29
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
(11-26-2016, 12:50 PM)roo Wrote: Pass 4...

tick tock tick tock

I was thinking about a Sonos Playbar.  I still kinda am.  What I really want is some sort of audio device that makes explosions quieter and dialog louder.  I often have to turn up the TV to hear dialog, and then some sound effect is blaring, so I turn it back down.  It degrades the experience somewhat.


In general, the explosions are mixed out to the left and right channels, while the dialog is in the center.  Maybe you should adjust the system to turn up the center?
11-27-2016, 10:49 PM,
Post: #30
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
I should clarify: I'm using only the built in TV speakers. I'll check again, but I don't think the TV has robust audio settings.
bedstuy Wrote:mocking a pair of $500 jeans is a form of class warfare... why do you hate my social status?
12-24-2016, 07:03 AM,
Post: #31
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
(11-26-2016, 07:06 AM)Gippy Wrote: I'm gonna buy that Sonnet. I'll then be able to ditch Firewire all together and my external drives will either be inside that Sonnet or connected over eSata to the Sonnet. I'll also have a USB 3 external for moving around.

I hate waiting on hard drives, but going full SSD would be prohibitively expensive. It sure would be nice to not listen to spinning platters, though.

I bought the sonnet and the large spinning drive that I was planning on putting in there promptly died. Weird timing.
So... I filled it with 3 SSDs. 1 500GB that I already had and 2 960GB Sandisk drives.

The best thing about this? Its fucking quiet... now I just need to figure out where to put the old TimeMachine backup (pair of striped 2TB drives in a FW800 enclosure).
12-24-2016, 12:09 PM,
Post: #32
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Quiet is good. I love my "new" MBP. I do. It's like a thick version of my new (work) one.

Glad you've upgraded. Enjoy!

That TimeMachine backup would be sweet inside another Sonnet.

shhhhhhh
bedstuy Wrote:mocking a pair of $500 jeans is a form of class warfare... why do you hate my social status?
12-25-2016, 05:32 AM,
Post: #33
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Alas, it is quiet because it is all SSD. Spinning rust in there would make it noisy Sad
I'm wondering if it might be time to go NAS with raid 5 for backups. Then I just swap drives as they fail.
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
12-25-2016, 05:37 AM,
Post: #34
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
I want this:

[Image: LaCie_6big-Right-Bird-Eye_400x400.jpg]

Then I'll stick it in a closet with a Mac Mini Server and that'll be the only spinnies in my day-to-day computing anymore. Oh, wait, there's one in the Time Capsule, too.
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
12-25-2016, 08:08 AM,
Post: #35
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Yeah, I can hear the Time Capsule spin up.
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
12-25-2016, 08:09 AM, (This post was last modified: 12-25-2016, 08:22 AM by Gippy.)
Post: #36
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
I found out why my hard drive failed:

[Image: 31812989926_ec84bdf17d_c.jpg]

There's also a black soot all over the inside of the drive.
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
12-25-2016, 09:37 AM,
Post: #37
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
that would do it.
My logic is infallible. Resistance is futile.
01-03-2017, 05:56 AM,
Post: #38
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Ugh. More spinning rust deaths... I guess this is what I get for making big switches all at once?

I'm close to replacing everything with this and a stack of 2GB laptop drives. That way I can stick it in the closet and forget about it until it tries to set the house on fire.
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
01-22-2017, 09:49 PM,
Post: #39
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Any thoughts on sticking an SSD into a Time Capsule?
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
01-22-2017, 10:38 PM,
Post: #40
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
I don't own a Time Capsule, but I'd expect it to work. It'd be quieter, but I can't imagine it'd be more performant.
bedstuy Wrote:mocking a pair of $500 jeans is a form of class warfare... why do you hate my social status?
01-23-2017, 01:34 AM,
Post: #41
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Yeah, that about sums it up, I think. My Time Capsule has 2TB of spinning rust in it, which will theoretically hold an eternity of valuable backup history. But since it seems to shit itself every year or so, after which I have to start anew, there's no way I'll ever fill all that space up. Nor do I want to, I think. I could stick a 1TB SSD in there and be rid of the sound it makes when the disk spins up.
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
ClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbieClubbie
01-23-2017, 05:54 AM, (This post was last modified: 01-23-2017, 05:56 AM by Gippy.)
Post: #42
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
That might be worth trying. Though fat SSD drives cost more than a fresh north korean baby.
But I could do a reasonable 1TB SSD in there and it would cover the wife perfectly. I'm already strapped to other hard drives.
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
01-23-2017, 06:07 AM,
Post: #43
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Thing is, right now I can hear the thing spin up at night when all through the house, not a creature is stirring, not even a mouse. Fat SSD's are rare, but there are adapter brackets that also land the connectors in the right spot. I pulled that 1TB number out of thin air, because it is about the cut-off between reasonable pricing per gigabyte and the point where they shoot into the heavens. The only machine backing up to this TC is my 128GB SSD MacBook Air, at the moment, although I do plan to upgrade and expand. I might get by with an even smaller SSD for now, I can always replace (that means two things!) the HD in the future when I have a better, more sound-proof place to put it.
01-23-2017, 06:27 AM,
Post: #44
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
If you can get away with 512GB for backup that's a pretty good price/capacity combo. I paid a lot for my 960GB SSDs.
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
01-23-2017, 06:31 AM,
Post: #45
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
I bet even putting a 2.5" spinny drive in there would quiet it down. I was surprised to find a full size drive in the old time capsule I just tore apart.
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
02-04-2017, 12:17 AM,
Post: #46
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Here you go, Alien. Just throw away the cards as they go bad... 4 Micro SD to Micro SATA Adapter RAID TF Card to 1.8 Inch Micro SATA Converter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C5MUILM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_ScjLyb1ZMXVC2
The chaos army seems suspiciously well organized.
flickr | Stupid Blog | Twitter
02-04-2017, 07:53 AM,
Post: #47
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
I found an IDE (not SATA) enclosure in my basement when I was putting away Christmas stuff. Had a 160 GB drive in it, but attempts at formatting the drive were problematic; I think this might have been a drive I pulled from my old G4 tower I gave to my cousins, which also later killed another drive. I do have another enclosure with a dead power supply and theoretically a good drive inside, so I should be able to cannibalize the drive inside that and chuck the other. Too bad it's hardly worth it, as I think the drive is no bigger than 120 GB.
There is no dark side of the moon, really…matter of fact, it's all dark.
02-04-2017, 11:48 AM,
Post: #48
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
And to think i just back up my important stuff to OneDrive and not deal with physical drives other than internals.
My logic is infallible. Resistance is futile.
02-04-2017, 03:11 PM,
Post: #49
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
Well, aren't you fucking special.
(02-04-2017, 12:17 AM)Gippy Wrote: Here you go, Alien. Just throw away the cards as they go bad... 4 Micro SD to Micro SATA Adapter RAID TF Card to 1.8 Inch Micro SATA Converter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C5MUILM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_ScjLyb1ZMXVC2
That's pretty much what I'm gonna do to my iPod Classic.
02-05-2017, 03:13 AM,
Post: #50
RE: Why do I need an external enclosure?
(02-04-2017, 11:48 AM)FuturDreamz Wrote: And to think i just back up my important stuff to OneDrive and not deal with physical drives other than internals.

Prove it. The thinking part, that is...


Forum Jump: